**Celebrating the Woman**

“Never let anyone make you feel inferior without your consent”… Eleanor Roosevelt.

Today is March 8th, a normal day like any other. But what makes today worth mentioning is that it’s also International Women’s Day. So for me today is tremendous!
The female species is an exemplary one. A rare kind that fascinates me again and again everyday. Women are the epitome of the human race, literally.. Without us, the cycle of life cannot go on.
To this day, women still undergo unmentionable situations, endure unnecessary treatment and persevere various circumstances and still come out as strong and as beautiful as they were before all that befell them. We may come from different families, cultures, countries, religions etc but in everything, there is one thing that unites us all; the fact that we are women.
Women are thought  to be second to man.
Women are considered the weaker sex.
Women are considered of no use.
Women are made to believe that they are here only to serve men and bare children.
Women are misunderstood, disrespected and looked down upon.
What people tend to forget even most women themselves, are the powerful traits that women exude that I believe make women THE stronger sex.
Women are strong ; mentally, physically and emotionally. No man can ever understand how women manage to hold it together under whatever circumstance.
Women are multitaskers thus making us worth alot more than just ‘of no use’. No man will ever be able to juggle a career, a family, an education etc and still come out on top as most women have proved in the past centuries and decades.
Women are incredible, beautiful, amazing, independent, brilliant, smart, hilarious, caring, responsible and down right fabulous! There are more than enough attributes that can be given to a woman, these are just but a few…
I want to commend the many inspirational women that paved the way for us. The women that fought tooth and nail for our rights and freedom. The women who refused to be just another pretty face. I applaude the likes of the Blessed Virgin Mary, St Maria Goretti, St Theresa, Blessed Mother Theresa, Eleanor Roosevelt, Hellen Keller, Rosa Parks, Anne Frank, Margaret Thatcher, Mary Wollstonecraft, Jane Austen, Condoleeza Rice, Maya Angelou, Benazir Bhutto, Winnie Mandela, Wangari Maathai, Oprah Winfrey, Michelle Obama and many many more.
On this day and everyday, I am proud to be a woman. I am proud of the woman I have become and the one I am yet to fully become. I am proud of my mother, the woman who made me what I am today. I am proud of my grandmother, the woman who made her the brilliant gem that she is. I am proud of my friends who have grown up to be such beautiful, inspiring ladies and I will be proud of the daughters we shall one day have for I know they will be just as incredible as we are if not more.
And not that I’m bashing the guys, you know we love you and appreciate all you do for us. I just wanted to thank the world for putting aside a day to celebrate the amazing gift of being…
A Woman.

“I’m a woman phenomenally. Phenomenal woman, that’s me”… Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

