All Things Real

“There is an inner beauty about a woman who believes in herself, who knows she is capable of anything that she puts her mind to. There is a beauty in the strength and determination of a woman who follows her own path, who isn’t thrown off by obstacles along the way. There is a beauty about a woman whose confidence comes from experiences; who knows she can fall, pick herself up, and move on”

I cannot remember who exactly said that, but I found it inspiring and beautiful and it’s wonderful way to start the weekend and to start my post too! SIGH… It has been too damn long! I know and I have no excuse except the fact that school has taken over my life, literally. lemme summarize the past month and a half:

1. Procrastination is Real– It is very very real! lol, I have been postponing this post for over an entire month now. Week after week after week, I keep saying “I’ll blog today… Or maybe tomorrow” Every freaking day! lol so today was the end point of that. If I keep procrastinating like this I may as well not call myself a blogger.

2. The Struggle is Real– I can’t even describe this. I have spent days on days, nights on nights, working on projects upon projects… All this while trying to keep a constant workout schedule and healthy diet going and searching for gradschools, internships and jobs… and oh yeah,working too. #EXHAUSTION is what I am feeling right now. Seems I can’t catch a break but I’m not complaining, loving the busy life just wishing I could sneak in some random funtimes here and there in my life. Anyway, such is life right? Struggle now, celebrate later?

3. The Hustle is Real– This has nothing to do with me but just wanna promote a couple of gigs my friends have been involved in and Im just so proud of their new ventures in life. 1st up, Fifi! @fmushi, my bestie, rommie, practically my everything here, lol.. u know I love you Fi. Nwy, she and her sister have started an online clothing boutique called 5% more chic. If you have seen the numerous pictures I have posted of Fiona either here, or on my fb, twitter, IG, u will know that this girl has style like no other! Fashion is her dream and she’s now making it her career. The site is still under construction but will launch very soon. They are based in Dar-es-Salaam but are planning on making deliveries regionally i.e East Africa and hopefully the world. Watch this space, they are about to become the next ASOS hailing from the motherland:)
2ndly, Pinchits! aka Eugene aka @Chef_Pinchito. Another fashion lover who wants to see to #BeSeen. #Moran is the name of his newly launched urban clothing line. Incorporates modern style with African prints to keep it local but super fresh at the same time. I’ll let the clothes to the talking, click here to see what #MoranApparel has to offer.

4. The Search for the Cure is Real– As you all know, October is Breast Cancer Awareness month and normally I’m not one for participating in all the activities that come round during this time but decided to change that this year. Do something out of my comfort zone, do something to spread awareness, do something in memory of all those who have lost their battle with cancer, one of them being my late Grandma. I participated in the annual Breast Cancer walk held in Orange and personally, I didn’t think I could get through it, given that my last ‘big walk/run’ was the Dettol heart run way back in high school that I did not even complete! lol but I did it, I completed it together with the BSU chapter of my school and it felt really great to have done something to help out, to help fundraise and help in the search for the cure. I don’t know if we shall ever find a cure… yes, I am hinting at my doctor friends @waiyaiya & Co. lol but atleast we can keep hoping and getting people to pray and hope with us. Faith does move mountains after all.

Well that’s most I can remember for now, my brain is on goldfish mode because it has way too much to remember lol. I have to disappear now and dive into my plethora of projects for the weekend but it feels good to blog again, like a breathe of fresh air. Will try make more time for this more often, but if I don’t report back in another month or so, call 911, seriously. Or just tweet @fmushi to see if Im still alive lol.

Leave a Reply

