New Year Thoughts

2016. Another year, another chance at starting afresh… New year, new me and all that Jazz. Well, for me this new year doesn’t feel new at all. Just feels like we moved on to a new month as we always do. The only thing that makes me feel like this is actually a new year is the fact that it is my birthday month, so with a new year, always comes the reminder that I’m about to turn a year older – yet again. As if I was meant to stop getting older at some point haha…

Resolutions. Another aspect of a new year that was non existent this January 1st. I’m that person who always makes long lists of resolutions and what have you but this time, I opted not to. Decided to live by the saying, ‘Whatever happens, happens.’ I’ll just go with the flow. The only thing I know I’m dedicated to fulfilling this year is getting a job and not just any job, a good, constructive job that I will love and enjoy. Quite a lot to ask for but when you get into gradschool, you learn fast enough what it is you want and what it is you don’t want out of your next job and your career. No time for wasted time.

Growth. The new year is the perfect time to reflect on everything that was 2015 and reflect on what you want 2016 to be. The past year was a bit too much for me to handle, one bad thing after the other right from the start. The only highlight I think I can say I had in 2015 was finally going to pursue my Masters. A decision I had been fighting with for so long but I’m glad I made that call because a change in direction was much needed in my life. In my reflections all I saw for 2016 is positivity and growth. That is all I want for my life – positive growth and a positive life. I’m avoiding anything negative like the plague and if I can’t avoid it, then I will find a way to learn from it. There is always a lesson to learn in every situation, no matter how good or bad it is.

Love. The new year always brings promises of a new love or rekindling old flames. For me, it’s quite the opposite. I don’t want to find a new love or rekindle anything, what I want is to love myself. I figured this is probably why I’ve been single for so long, I never love myself enough to be able to love someone else the way I should or the way I want to. So here’s to self-love in 2016, it may be a selfish thing to do but sometimes you have to be selfish in order to be generous.

Strength. Last but not least of them all. 2016 is a year filled with lots of challenges ahead, lots of strenuous obstacles that will require a lot of my strength to be able to fulfill most if not all of them. I tend to think I’m quite the strong woman judging by the last few years of my life -more on that later- so I think another year of my strength being tested shouldn’t be too hard right? Let’s hope so!

Well I guess I just wrote down some form of resolution list after all haha, I tried. I’m excited for the year ahead. Despite getting older, I’m also completing my schooling and I’m curious to see where life takes me after that. Will I still be in London? Will I come back home? Will I have to move elsewhere? The possibilities are so many and I can’t wait to see how it all pans out.

How’s your 2016 looking like so far?

Leave a Reply

