Birthday Vibes 

25.01.16

Another year older and wiser too me thinks. Much much wiser.

It’s my birthday today and because it’s Monday and I have full day classes I can’t really celebrate much, but I can reflect on what this new chance at life means for me.

I love birthdays, I love being able to celebrate someone’s existence on this earth. It is a wonderful thing to be alive and what a time to be alive as well.

All I can say is that I am grateful. Grateful for the 26 years that God has given me on this earth and I pray that he keeps blessing me with many many more. As I start the 27th, all I pray and hope for is health, happiness and success.

We live in a time now where almost anything and everything is possible. Yesterday I was watching The trend with Larry madowo, and he was holding a panel talk about Music and Money in Kenya. And I couldn’t help but be in awe of Ms Maureen Kunga of Elani. Kenyan Music group, Elani has been in the news for the past few days thanks to this video they released in regards to not receiving the money they rightly made through royalties.

This platform on the trend brought together all the music bigwigs and the govt representatives of the entertainment industry as well. What I liked about Maureen was how perfectly she articulated herself and how well she carried herself in a room filled with so many people her senior.

Most Kenyans of the older age bracket feel that us ‘youngins’ have no business questioning anything just because that’s how things are always done…. But in reality, we do need to question things especially when it goes against our basic human rights and our rights as Kenyan citizens.

We all know how corrupt Kenya is and particularly the government, and yet we sit aside and still let them get away with it just because ‘This is Kenya and that’s just the norm.’ I applaud Elani for speaking up about the discrepancies in the system and their bold move has set an example to all of us, the youth of Kenya. We should not be afraid to speak our truth. No matter what. This country can go so much further if such incompetence could be gotten rid of once and for all. It all starts with you and me.

Anyway, that aside, sorry for digressing. This year is going to be a good year for me, I’m speaking it out into the universe and praying for positive, good vibes for the rest of the year.

I’m in my last semester of gradschool and I want to finish strong. I also want to fully focus on self love this year. Loving yourself is the best gift you could ever give yourself. Growth within me and around me is continuing and I’m loving it so far.

It’s only onwards and upwards from here on out. Have a blessed week folks!

P.S: This blog also celebrated a birthday earlier this week – 6 years and counting! Yay😊

Leave a Reply

