The Brunch Series: Brew Bistro

My love for a good brunch sparked a great idea in my head – why not do reviews – particular to brunch only? I spend so much time planning brunches and looking for the next best brunch spot that it only made sense to start doing write-ups of the places and give credit where it’s due and constructive criticism also where it’s due. And what better way to start off this series than to highlight the best brunch I’ve had so far in 2017 i.e. at Brew Bistro, Nairobi.

It’s not everyday you find a bar/nightclub that dabbles as a great restaurant and an even better brunch spot at the same time. I was pleasantly surprised when I found out about this brunch from watching Miss Mandi’s vlog about it, then a couple of friends spoke of it too and I was just like – who does brunch at a bar??? Brew Bistro does. I was sold once I heard the cost – KSH1,500 for an all you can eat delectable brunch menu that I really wasn’t ready for.

Got two of my other brunch aficionados on board and we sat our hungry selves down at the Brew in westlands wondering where to start. Brew Bistro is known for its famous draft beers of course, their signature cocktails and great food. For 1500, I didn’t expect much, thought we’d get a set menu and just have a few drinks and call it a great Sunday afternoon out. I walked into a set-up that’s very different from the usual with food stations set up around the central part of the bar aka the dance-floor and one at the smaller bar at the far end near the Shisha area. Small bitings are the first thing that meet your eye as you walk in – mini croissants, muffins, slices of chocolate cake, chips and dip, baskets of fresh bread, bowls of fruits, freshly tossed salads, and artfully arranged trays of prawn cocktails in shot glasses (way to improvise lol), sushi + a sauce to dip and of course – what’s brunch without a perfectly layered parfait? That’s just one station y’all. I haven’t even gotten to the waffles section.

A mini barbecue set up sits right next to the dessert and starter section described above, a very cheerful and eager chef is on hand to grill, roast, fry what you would like from the various meats available – I recommend the lamb and the ribs, so good! Walking across to the couches, now drenched in the warm afternoon sun, I stop right at my now favourite station is and an even more cheerful chef (I like people with good energy, he was so great) was behind the counter waiting to take our order of waffles and omelettes respectively. There was a variety of toppings lined up for one to choose from for both the waffles and the omelettes. My go to with waffles is always strawberries, whipped cream and bacon! A little sweet, a little savoury and I’m one satisfied girl.  My friend had a monster of an omelette and later on had a perfectly made pasta bowl that I can still taste to this day. Yep, you can get freshly made pasta dishes too at this brunch – who knew!

Image from Brew Bistro Instagram

Guys. We really weren’t ready for All. That. Food. Insert all the clapping emojis everywhere. We were definitely spoilt for choice. This is an all day brunch from 11am to 4pm on Sundays and they have a special Belaire all day Brunch on specific Saturdays – look out for their promo posts about these on their various social media channels. Great weather, great food, great ambience (I forgot to mention how great the music was) and banter with friends is probably one of the most perfect ways to spend a Sunday. Try it out sometime and let me know what you think.

Also if there are any other cool spots for brunch in Nairobi that you may know of and think are worth a try, please share with me in the comments, my brunch loving peeps and I would love to try them out, one Sunday at a time:)

 

Happy Brunching!

 

Leave a comment